Book vs. Film: The Mysteries of Pittsburgh

book vs film mysteries of pittsburgh

Book.

  • Because the movie casting was just wrong, wrong, wrong. Particularly Cleveland. And where the hell was the (pivotal) character of Arthur?
  • Book had a subtle but distinct sense of place. Movie – not so.
  • The ‘themes’ in the book (notably sexuality) are carefully played out. In the movie, they are as subtle as a drag queen’s eye shadow.

See my review of The Mysteries of Pittsburgh by Michael Chabon here.

3 responses

  1. I haven’t read the book or seen the movie. I’m a big fan of peter Sargard though. And just from the poser, he looks pretty good with a beard. But, who doesn’t? I even changed my mind about Ben Affleck after Argo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.