Podcast spring-clean

Usually at the end of uni, I set myself a few arbitrary, ‘first world’ tasks. There’s obviously nothing pressing about spring-cleaning my list of podcasts… but the little icon that shows the number of unplayed episodes is at a point that seems to induce anxiety in people who pick up my phone…

I subscribe to podcasts when I hear about them (usually through one reliable friend at gym). But getting around to listening to a few episodes is another thing, so I’m starting an intensive podcast equivalent of Sample Saturday. I’ll give each of the following podcasts a one or two episode test. If they ‘stay’, I’ll add a link.

Narrative / True Crime

The Messenger
Mogul: The Life and Death of Chris Lightly
Dirty John – I was hooked from episode 1 and binge-listened the whole thing.
The Inquiry
Trace
Body on the Moor
Undone
Heavyweight
Undisclosed
Homecoming
Casefile True Crime
In the Dark
Tall Tales & True
The Tokyo Hotel
Phoebe’s Fall
How to be a Girl
Alone: A Love Story – a memoir about the a marriage. Fantastic use of voice and music.
Welcome to Night Vale
Found
Hollywood & Crime
Locked Up Abroad – if you like Border Security, you’ll love this.
Sight Unseen
Love Me

Pop Culture / History / Science

You Must Remember This
Ear Hustle
Surprisingly Awesome
Science Vs
Sampler
Every Little Thing
Radio Rookies from WNYC
Reply All
The Tidy Towns Finalists
Outer Sanctum
Outlook
Pop Rocket
Slate’s Culture Gabfest
Pop Culture Happy Hour
Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History
Stuff You Missed in History Class
Embedded
Radiolab
Invisibilia
Modern Love
Stuff Mom Never Told You

Uni Related

The Minimalists – okay, although these guys could be more ‘minimal’ with regards to length of their podcasts, it’s good stuff.
Twice Removed
All in the Mind
Death, Sex & Money
Shrink on the Couch
Counselling Tutor
The Australia Counselling Podcast
Happier with Gretchen Rubin

Books

By the Book
The Worst Bestsellers
The Readers
The Readings Podcast
London Review Podcast
The Book Review
The Guardian Books Podcast
Melbourne Library Service
Man Booker Prize
Rereaders

Are there any podcasts that you’d recommend? Let me know and I’ll add them to my list.

10 responses

  1. I’m loving “Stuff Mom Never Love You” right now and “BackStory”. I agree that it’s a whole separate thing when it comes to actually listening to all the different ones that I subscribe to. I’ve found that listening to them on commutes helps but even then, it’s difficult.

Leave a Reply

