Sample Saturday – three non-fiction picks

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

The Boy Who Loved Too Much by Jennifer Latson

Why I have it: Spotted on Science Book a Day.

Summary: Story of a boy with Williams syndrome, a rare genetic disorder that makes people biologically incapable of distrust.

“…it has been described to me as a ‘cocktail party syndrome’ that made people socially fearless, quick to greet strangers and to strike up a charming conversation laden with compliments and endearments.”

I’m thinking: Yes – fascinating.

Life Unfolding by Jamie A. Davies

Why I have it: I just love this kind of stuff.

Summary: Embryology meets pop-science.

I’m thinking: No. Really interesting first chapter but I have other books similar in the TBR stack which I should read first.

Stranger Than We Can Imagine by John Higgs

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: The ‘alternative’ history of the twentieth century – bypass WWI, the Great Depression, WWII, the fall of the Berlin Wall and instead focus on the great innovations such as relativity, cubism, quantum mechanics, postmodernism and chaos maths.

I’m thinking: No.

 

Save

Save

2 responses

  1. I like the sound of the Higgs, particularly at a moment in my own country’s history which has plunged many of us into deep gloom. I could do with being reminded with what’s been achieved in the world.

Leave a Reply

