Sample Saturday – four stories in one, a girl who doesn’t know her place, and an author

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

4 3 2 1: A Novel by Paul Auster

Why I have it: Spotted it at Brona’s Books.

Summary: The story of one child told as four simultaneous and independent fictional paths.

I’m thinking: Maybe… but 880 pages?! (Note that this is one of the most generous ‘samples’ I’ve come across).

Cluny Brown by Margery Sharp

Why I have it: Spotted over at Madame Bibi Lophile Recommends.

Summary: 1938 – Cluny Brown, of the ‘working class’ refuses to ‘know her place’.

I’m thinking: Yes. I love that Mitford/ von Arnim/ Watson brand of wit.

Summer Before the Dark by Volker Weidermann

Why I have it: Lured by Susan’s review and the fact that I like Stefan Zweig’s work.

Summary: In a Belgian seaside town in 1936, author Stefan Zweig reunites with his estranged friend Joseph Roth. Initially idyllic, the holiday turns as Europe begins to crumble.

I’m thinking: Maybe. The subject is super interesting but the writing in the first chapter didn’t grab me.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

10 responses

    • It’s odd because I found the Weidermann oddly detached. Perhaps that was just the first chapter but it was not what I was expecting (I had anticipated something more intimate).

Leave a Reply

