April Rewind

The last month has been MENTAL. I’ve hardly had time to read. I know, right? Anyway, it’s why I’m only getting around to the April rewind now…

2012: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – this was a re-read but how could I not include it?! An all-time favourite.

2013: 99 Reasons Why by Caroline Smailes – confronting, inventive, unique.

2014: Cold Spring Harbor by Richard Yates – it’s Yates. Say no more.

2015: The Golden Age by Joan London – a delicate, beautifully told story.

2016: Double Fault by Lionel Shriver – her characters are remarkable.

2017: Between a Wolf and a Dog by Georgia Blain – sometimes the most ordinary, everyday pain is the worst.

10 responses

    • I really, really love Yates but I’m careful to space out his books – as I’ve mentioned to some people, I find his books quietly depressing – they really creep up on you.

      • Ah, sounds like his books have a similar impact to someone like Anita Brookner. I read a lot of her a decade or so ago, and loved them, but couldn’t read them in quick succession.

      • So funny because I’m reading my first Brookner at the moment (Fraud) – not sure if it’s representative of her work but I’m reminded also if Elizabeth Taylor.

      • I havne’t read Fraud, but if it’s about loneliness, or alienation from those around you, or uncomfortable or awkward or superficial relationships, and if it’s written in a measured, classy style, then it would be typical! I know Taylor but I don’t think I’ve actually read her.

  1. The GG is ok, but I don’t think it the ‘great’ work that Americans do. I haven’t read the others, but ended up liking London’s Gilgamesh and have my first Shriver, Big Brother, with me to listen to in the next week or so.

    • GG is my go-to when I’ve had a run of bad books – perhaps it’s not the masterpiece people claim but I do always enjoy reading it.

      I will be interested to hear your thoughts on Shriver – if you like her work, there’s lots of exciting reading ahead of you! I think she is an extremely smart writer – I know lots of people are turned off by her deliberately provocative stunts at writers festivals but regardless, her books challenge, are compelling and memorable. Brace yourself for We Need to Talk About Kevin, if you ever get to it.

  2. You are the only other blogger I know who’s read The Golden Age! Wasn’t it lovely? It was one of my favorite books from 2016 and yet, no one seems to have heard about it.

Leave a Reply

