Sample Saturday – a hitman, cricket, and a stack of cash

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

Kill the Next One by Federico Axat

Why I have it: Because sometimes I feel like reading a thriller.

Summary: Ted McKay has a gun to his temple, ready to pull the trigger. Then the doorbell rings. A stranger makes him a proposition: why not kill two deserving men before dying?

I’m thinking: Maybe, but I get the feeling it will descend into stupid.

Selection Day by Aravind Adiga

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: Coming-of-age story with a cricket theme.

I’m thinking: No.

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: Mr Smith arrives in small town New York, in 1746. He has a thousand pounds, a huge amount, and he won’t explain why, or where he comes from, or what he can be planning to do in the colonies that requires so much money. Should they befriend him, seduce him, arrest him; maybe even kill him?

I’m thinking: No.

Save

Save

Save

Save

6 responses

  1. While I wouldn’t want to give you a bum steer against your ‘no’ instinct can only say that I thought Selection Day was really good ( though I have to admit that’s partly cos you might need to love cricket to love the book!) and Golden Hill was even better!

  2. I loved Selection Day, and I really don’t think you need to know about cricket – it’s really about modern Bombay, and about corruption in society viewed through the microcosm of corruption in sport. It could as easily be any sport, but cricket has a special resonance in India, being a hangover for the days of the British Empire. The characterisation is great, and there’s plenty of humour to lighten the tone.

    There, I’ve done my best to convince you… 😉

Leave a Reply

