Sample Saturday – tv memories, hiding, and a mother

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

Seinfeldia by Jennifer Armstrong

Why I have it: Because “…the sea was angry that day, my friends…”.

Summary: The story behind Seinfeld, the ‘show about nothing’ that was everything.

I’m thinking: Yes.

Black Water by Louise Doughty

Why I have it: Because I enjoyed Apple Tree Yard.

Summary: Man hides out on a tropical island, certain someone is trying to kill him.

I’m thinking: No. The sample chapter, although generous, wasn’t enough to hook me.

Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple

Why I have it: Just seems it is everywhere…

Summary: Eleanor decides it’s a ‘get-shit-done’ day. And then all sorts of stuff – not planned stuff and not stuff initiated by Eleanor – happens.

I’m thinking: Yes. Made me LOL.

Save

Save

Save

Save

7 responses

  1. Let me know what you think about Today Will Be Different…I loved the opening paragraph, but then heard it went seriously downhill from multiple other bloggers I trust.

  2. It’s weird that I’ve never seen Seinfeld, isn’t it? Don’t worry, I already know the answer to that. lol Black Water did sound intriguing… downloading samples and trying them out before taking the plunge is a brilliant idea. I got Where’d You Go, Bernadette for my birthday.. last year.. and I’ve already had another birthday so I should probably make that happen.

  3. I’ve only heard of the last one and that’s cos I’m doing a (way too late) Xmas book ideas post and I saw it on a publisher’s listing! And I think I also noted it’s being made into a TV series or something. Or perhaps I imagined that last bit.

Leave a Reply

