Sample Saturday – an artist, a teen, and a drifter

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose

Why I have it: Because it’s a contender for Heather’s favourite book of 2016.

Summary: A woman, separated from her film composer husband, asks him to keep one devastating promise. All is revealed as the composer watches a 75 day artistic performance.

I’m thinking: Yes – the sample chapter ends with a terrific hook.

Weightless by Sarah Bannan

Why I have it: This review on the Readings blog.

Summary: Coming-of-age story about instantly-popular new girl, Carolyn, who dates a senior boy, makes some enemies, and has an unsavoury video if her circulated.

I’m thinking: Maybe (but perhaps have had enough of these types of stories this year…).

Lila by Marilynne Robinson

Why I have it: It was in the 2014 Best of the Best list.

Summary: Lila, who has spent most of her life homeless and adrift, becomes the wife of a minister but struggles with her newfound security.

I’m thinking: No. I haven’t read any Robinson and this might be a good place to start but I wasn’t hooked.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

11 responses

  1. I bought Lila this week (I haven’t read any Robinson either) so I’ hoping you’ll get loads of comments telling you how brilliant it is…

    The Museum of Modern Love sounds excellent – somehow this had passed me by. One more for the TBR!

  2. I was given The Museum of Modern love earlier this week. The cover had kept catching my eye so I was pleased to get it. Lila is also on my list but I don’t have it I don’t think. I have Housekeeping? Also not read. She is meant to be fabulous.

  3. If you want to read Robinson, start with Gilead, OR, if you fancy a slightly darker bent, Housekeeping, which is her first novel and very much more peculiar than the others.

Leave a Reply

