Sample Saturday – short books for book groups

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

All three samples this week came from Sarah’s list of short books that are great conversation starters for book groups. I agreed with many of Sarah’s picks (the Phillips, Koch and Wood) and have a couple of others already in the TBR stack, so I thought I’d check out her other suggestions.

The Mother by Yvvette Edwards

Summary: Marcia Williams’ sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, was brutally murdered. She goes to court for the trial of the accused killer – another teenage boy.

I’m thinking: Maybe – the style is perhaps a little too journalistic-meets-true-crime for my liking (but I could be swayed).

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Summary: At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Suddenly he goes from doctor to patient. This is his memoir.

I’m thinking: Maybe – the sample was the foreword and therefore not Kalanithi’s writing (I suspect this book will be on lots of ‘best of 2016’ lists and might be nudged into my ‘yes’ pile).

The Wife by Meg Wolitzer

Summary: Joan is married to Joseph Castleman, one of America’s preeminent novelists. Joan, who has spent forty years subjugating her own literary talents to fan the flames of her husband’s career, has finally decided to stop.

I’m thinking: Yes – I was hooked from the beginning.

9 responses

    • I’ve only read one book by her – The Interestings – which I didn’t find as interesting as many of my blogging friends. However, this book is much shorter than The Interestings, and from the outset, much punchier. Stay tuned!

    • I quite like memoirs (although have to be careful I don’t read too many in succession or they get a bit much – or perhaps I get too cynical??) – so many people have mentioned this one and interestingly, I’ve noticed a wide variety of readers have enjoyed it (not that enjoyed is the right word in this instance, but you know what I mean).

  1. Thanks for the shout-out!! And, I’d say that the Edwards is pretty true crime-ish (but I love true crime), but it also deals heavily with a mother’s grief and that writing does not feel as journalistic.

    The Wife – YES!

    When Breath Becomes Air – I’ll obviously tell you to keep reading since I loved it. Paul’s writing is gorgeous and I do think it will make a bunch of end of year best lists.

  2. Good Morning Kate!

    I hope you’re well!

    We’re having an event at Our Little Caravan – just for Melbourne based bloggers! I’m inviting anyone I’ve met this year who has walked across my path and writes a blog.

    I’m attaching the details. I hope you can come, but I know it’s a busy time of year so I understand if you can’t make it to this one. We hope to hold more next year. Although it’s “invite only” it is not an exclusive event. If you know any other Melbourne based bloggers that may benefit from the meet-up of a like minded group – please feel very free to share this invite with them.

    Bookings are made through the trybooking link.

    I’m trying to be creative with the “meet ups” that are possible in our shop. Little did we know when we set up originally as a party destination venue, that the collective shop in itself would become a community. It’s just such a dreadful street for a retail shop and cafe! I’m currently embracing the change of direction in my business from and constantly thinking of opportunities to invite people to visit us in Notting Hill.

    The shop space has been a great place to host all sorts of unique events including craft workshops, live music events, and book launches. As a social enterprise, we encourage collaboration amongst the stallholders and embrace the opportunity to support local charities either by providing shelf space free of charge and donating proceeds to charity, or using the shop space to host charitable events.

    ….and now our latest idea – the bloggers meet ups! I’m thinking “mumprenurs” might be next. Teaching mums how to turn their hobby into a business.

    Any creative ideas you may have are most welcome!

    I hope it’s been a good year for you and your family.

    Have a lovely day

    Christina

    On Sat, Nov 12, 2016 at 3:49 PM, booksaremyfavouriteandbest wrote:

    > Kate W posted: ” Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy > billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away > and deciding whether it’s buy or bye. All three samples this week came from > Sarah’s list of short books that are great conv” >

Leave a Reply

