Sample Saturday – a loner, a kiss, and two lovers

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

Loner by Teddy Wayne

Why I have it: Rory made me want it.

Summary: Socially awkward boy meets glamorous girl at Harvard – compromises everything to win her over.

I’m thinking: Without a doubt, yes (reminds me of Penelope).

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Why I have it: That cover… A sprawling relationship story…

Summary: A party, someone kisses someone they shouldn’t. The fallout continues over five decades.

I’m thinking: Yes. How can I not read a book that begins with –

“The christening party took a turn when Albert Cousins arrived with gin.”

That Mad Ache by Françoise Sagan

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: A Parisian socialite is caught between her love for an older, wealthy businessman and a young, impulsive guy.

I’m thinking: Oui, oui – a lovely little Parisian (sixties) drawing-room drama.

13 responses

    • I’ve also read good reviews of Commonwealth – well, all except one from a blogging friend who rates Bel Canto as one of her favourites. She didn’t think Commonwealth measured up – but maybe her expectations were high??

    • Excellent! Was it you that recommended the Sagan?? It’s often a mystery as to how I end up with these samples until someone comments on my post and then I remember where the recommendation came from! (clearly I need a system for recording such things!).

  1. I do want to read Loner! I read Teddy Wayne’s previous book (The Love Song of Jonny Valentine) and thought it was pretty terrific.The Ann Patchett is getting great reviews. I’ll probably read it eventually. Good luck!

  2. I want all of these. ‘The Loner’ sounds like it’ll break my heart and put it back together; I’ve never read Patchett, but I’ve seen some good words about this one lately (is that January Jones on the cover?); and Paris – yes please.

Leave a Reply

