Sample Saturday – angels, music and past love

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

Falling Angels by Tracy Chevalier

Why I have it: Because Margaret included it in her #6Degrees chain.

Summary: The story of the fortunes of two families in the early twentieth century, told from the shifting perspectives of various family members.

I’m thinking: Yes – filing it away for some holiday reading (also, I loved her book, Remarkable Creatures).

Love Goes to Buildings on Fire by Will Hermes

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: Five years in New York that changed music forever (non-fiction).

“There remains a myth that the early-to mid-’70s  – post-Aquarian revolution, before punk and hip-hop begot the new age – was a cultural dead zone. And yet, amid the skyscrapers we marveled at from the Thirteen Storey Building, down on the streets, artists were breaking music apart and rebuilding it for a new era.”

I’m thinking: Maybe. The writing is terrific but although I’m a child of the early seventies, my music is heavily rooted in early eighties, so not sure if I want a whole book on the topic.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Why I have it: Because it made Jessica stay up all night reading.

Summary: Lily falls in love with Ryle, he’s not overly enthused. Lily thinks about her first love, Atlas and it threatens what she has with Ryle.

I’m thinking: Not for me but I reckon if you loved Me Before You, this would be right up your alley.

6 responses

  1. I’ve read Falling Angels, but it was so long ago that I’ve completely forgotten everything about it. I’m pretty sure I enjoyed it though, so it gets my vote 🙂

    Anything likened to Me Before You does not get my vote. I’ll leave it there…

    • Ditto Me Before You (but I know so many people who loved it! I’m not degree ding them – unlike people who said Fifty Shades was the best book they’ve ever read – but safe to say I haven’t read any more Moyes).

Leave a Reply

