Sample Saturday – the short stories about women edition

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

The Shore by Sara Taylor

Why I have it: Mentioned on A Life in Books and confirmed when I saw the seashell cover.

Summary: Linked stories about generations of women who live on small islands off the coast of Virginia. Not chick-lit – it’s gritty stuff.

I’m thinking: Yes. There’s a bit of an Olive feel to it.

American Housewife by Helen Ellis

Why I have it: Seems to be on everyone’s reading list at the moment.

Summary: Stories set in the ‘dark’ world of domesticity – ladies who lunch, celebrity treasure hunters, and the best bra fitter south of the Mason Dixon line.

I’m thinking: Yes. I know this collection has been labelled ‘patchy’ but I loved the first story and and it’s grim one-liners –

“I weep because I am lucky enough to have a drawer just for glitter.”

Single, Carefree, Mellow by Katherine Heiny

Why I have it: Kept popping up on ‘Titles to look forward to in 2016’ lists.

Summary: Stories about teen girls and young women – they make poor choices in men and children’s magicians and wise choices in what to wear to meet their lovers’ wives.

I’m thinking: Maybe. I liked the first story but based on it, compared to the similar American Housewife, I’d go Housewife.

Have you read any of these? Yay or nay?

10 responses

    • Excellent! I made a point of mentioning that it’s not chick-lit because when it came around on NetGalley (ages ago), I overlooked it because the blurb suggested “…generations of women…blah, blah, blah…” and it sounded very much “women’s fiction” – shows the power of a blurb!

Leave a Reply

