Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts

1. My extended beach time is over for this summer. It was lovely.

summer-mccrae-2016

2. At the end of 2015, my monstrous TBR list was sitting at 404. I was sent a (big) bunch of ARCs over the last fortnight and, minus what I’ve read, the list has crept up to 410. A few more ARCs may come my way but going forward I expect the number to plummet drop.

3. I’m not including 2016 releases in my Mount TBR challenge (even though I got them last year) – it just doesn’t seem right.

4. Not planned in any way but as I unpacked my holiday bag and sorted through the mail I realised that over the last few weeks I’ve bought three different things with a jellyfish pattern (this dress, this planter and a vase similar to this {mine has a pale blue glaze}). What’s the universe trying to tell me…?

5. Seems I’ll *have* to watch the BBC production of War & Peace (still haven’t read it – is this a crime? A big mistake? It’s tough because a 1200+ page book isn’t really compatible with reducing the quantity in the TBR stack).

Bookish Thoughts is hosted by Christine at Bookishly Boisterous. Pop over and say hi.

20 responses

    • Somehow I don’t think I’ll get through the book before the mini-series starts in a fortnight… Maybe I can use the book as a footrest while I watch it on tele… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. It looks like you had a lovely time at the beach, based on the pictures shared.

    I haven’t read War And Peace, but have been tempted by the BBC adaptation. I tend to not like watching things before reading them… But I mean, am I really going to get through the chunkster that is War and Peace?!

    • I keep looking at the size of the book and thinking that it’s really the equivalent of reading four books, so no big deal, right? But it’s physically SO BIG that I can’t exactly carry it around everywhere, so fear it would take me months to get through!

  2. I love your beach pictures! It looks like you all had a great time.

    Iสปm sure my TBR list looks something like yours as well. Iสปm working on getting the number down but thereสปs always more books to add.

  3. I have seen the trailer and it looks gorgeous! I usually like reading the book before watching something, but it’s not physically possible. I don’t know if I will ever read War and Peace. Russian literature is not my thing.

    • We had a flatty feast that night (and snapper and squid).

      I always said I wouldn’t count my TBR stack but it was more about organising what I had… and once I started I couldn’t stop until I knew the awful truth ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Oh wow, I’m hyperventilating over your TBR list. I get worried if mine gets into double digits (then just stop requesting for a while). I don’t actually request a lot of ARCs – mostly just new releases a month or so before they’re out.

    Your time at the beach looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

