Sample Saturday – a band, a novelist, and a house

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

In The All-Night Cafe by Stuart David

Why I have it: Gave it to my brother for Christmas and thought I’d have a look myself.

Summary: A memoir of Belle and Sebastian’s formative year.

I’m thinking: Maybe – the writing is smooth but will wait for my brother’s verdict.

The Women’s Pages by Debra Adelaide

Why I have it: There was lots of (good) AWW noise about it toward the end of 2015.

Summary: A novelist, her subject, and Wuthering Heights.

I’m thinking: Yes, but should I re-read Wuthering Heights first (it’s been decades…)

Infinite Home by Kathleen Alcott

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: A Brooklyn brownstone houses an unlikely collection of tenants (who are about to be evicted).

I’m thinking: No – begins like a story where there’s quantity (of characters) rather than quality.

6 responses

  1. Each for these appeals to me to different reasons. I love getting all these tips on new books but, that only adds to the never ending TBR list LOL

Leave a Reply

