Sample Saturday – a best friend, an assassination, and a new Jane

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

The False Friend by Myla Goldberg

Why I have it: Because I loved Bee Season.

Summary: Two eleven-year-old girls, best friends and fierce rivals, go into the woods. Only one comes out.

I’m thinking: Maybe. The first chapters are good but then I read some reviews on Goodreads (overwhelmingly dreadful).

11.22.63 by Stephen King

Why I have it: Should this be the first King I’ve read in eleventy hundred years, Rory?

Summary: The Kennedy assassination, rewritten.

I’m thinking: Sure (it can be my 2016 doorstop read at 850 pages…).

The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey

Why I have it: Because bits of Eva Moves the Furniture have stayed with me.

Summary: Jane Eyre, re-imagined in 1960s Scotland.

I’m thinking: Maybe. Will I be constantly comparing it to Jane? This is always the problem with retellings.

7 responses

Leave a Reply

