Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts

dressmaker-costume-1

1. The Dressmaker film was superb. And the costumes were breathtaking. My friend Kate alerted me to this exhibition. Kate lives in a different state to me but we will find a way of seeing this together (road trip time?!).

dressmaker-costume-3

2. Much of the soundtrack for The Dressmaker was original but the Flower Duet from Lakmé was included – always one of my favourites.

3. My husband had to get a blood pressure monitoring machine at home (on account of his white-coat fever). Geez, I do love a gadget… so, taking your own blood pressure – how many times a day is too many? *asking for a friend*

4. I see that the 2016 reading challenges are starting to pop up. There’s a good round-up of them at A Novel Challenge. At this stage, the only one I’ll be signing up for it the Mount TBR Challenge (because this).

5. I’ve basically turned all speakers to Adele this past week. Honestly, if you’re in any doubt about this woman’s talent and style, watch the clip below. She’s brilliant.

6. This wonderful piece by Emma Jane Unsworth on friendship. I have some friendship anniversaries that might need celebrating (I think a few hit the 30-year mark in 2016).

7. I own lots of different editions of Alice but not this one. Yet.

8. I made these brownies this week. Sweet baby cheeses, they were damn good (for my US readers, a Mint Pattie is the same as a York peppermint pattie).

9. Even though this is the best sangria in the world, I will probably give this a try.

10. And last but not least, I’m back in the winners circle, peoples!

winning

Bookish Thoughts is hosted by Christine at Bookishly Boisterous. Pop over and say hi.

8 responses

  1. OMG! You finally knocked what’s-her-name off her relish making, Ezy Sauce perch! Well done you! Road trip sounds good. Just tell me when. I better get a wriggle on and see the movie.

    I also just noticed this Miss Phryne Fisher costume exhibition on in Adelaide at the moment.

    http://www.ayershousemuseum.org.au/events/miss-fisher-costume-exhibition/

    I’m going to dump the kids with my parents for a few days and take myself off to see it, WITH NO PHONE AND NO WATCH! I did it last year with the couture exhibition and it was one of the most brilliant and memorable days I’ve had in ages. Woo!

    • Yes, finally a win. I did beat her the first year I entered but since then it’s been 2nd place. It was a very good batch this year, even if I do say so myself!

      We’ve got until the beginning of March for the Dressmaker – do you think you could wangle a Feb Melbourne weekend?

      Make sure you get to the Miss Fisher exhibition – it’s sensational (they held it at Ripponlea Historic House here).

  2. Pingback: Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

