Sample Saturday – a move, coming-of-age, and an island

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop

Why I have it: Because it just won the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction.

Summary: English woman has a mid-life/ identity crisis. Moves to Australia.

I’m thinking: Yes. Brilliant opening chapter.

Summer at Mount Hope by Rosalie Ham

Why I have it: Because it’s by the same author as The Dressmaker (and it’s hard not to notice all that Hemsworth action at the moment).

Summary: A young woman growing up in rural Victoria, during a drought and the Depression.

I’m thinking: A little too quaint? I can’t tell from the chapter I read, so it’s a maybe.

Island Home by Tim Winton

Why I have it: Although I have a bit of a love/whatever* relationship with Winton, I have read great reviews of Island Home.

Summary: Winton’s ode to Australia and how its landscape has shaped him.

I’m thinking: Yes because it’s described as a ‘landscape memoir’. Isn’t that lovely?

*love/whatever is all about indifference, as opposed to love/hate.

2 responses

  1. Oooh oh .. I’ve actually read a book you haven’t, oh my goodness. I loved the dressmaker and I liked this too – maybe not quite as much. I can’t actually remember what it’s about. But I am sure I liked it.

Leave a Reply

