Sample Saturday – the non-fiction edition

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

The Biggest Estate on Earth by Bill Gammage

Why I have it: Because I was reminded of the importance of bushfires for the Australian landscape when I visited the National Arboretum a few weeks ago.

Summary: Examines the complex, country-wide systems of land management used by Indigenous people in pre-settlement Australia.

I’m thinking: Yes.

The Price of Privilege by Madeline Levine

Why I have it: Read an article where the author was quoted. The article was interesting (but can’t remember where I saw it…).

Summary: #firstworldproblems, teen edition.

I’m thinking: No. I’m sure there’s plenty of relevant stuff in this book but the introductory chapters didn’t tell me much that gut instinct hasn’t already.

The Man Who Couldn’t Stop by David Adam

Why I have it: Because I was looking for a book I read years ago (The Boy Who Couldn’t Stop Washing by Judith Rapoport) and this popped up first in the search results.

Summary: A memoir about living with obsessive compulsive disorder by Nature editor and an accomplished science writer, David Adam.

I’m thinking: Yes. Hard to ignore a book that begins with –

“An Ethiopian schoolgirl called Bira once ate a wall of her house. She didn’t want to but to, but she found that to eat the wall was the only way to stop her thinking about it.”

 

Leave a Reply

