Sample Saturday: finding a father, love, and a baby called Beauty

sample-saturday-4

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

Last Day in the Dynamite Factory by Annah Faulkner

Why I have it: No idea.

Summary: Guy searches for his biological father and in doing so digs up secrets from the past.

I’m thinking: No. I loved the opening scene but the rest of the sample wasn’t enough to convince me.

Wilful Disregard by Lena Andersson

Why I have it: Absolutely positive I saw a review on one of my regularly read blogs recently but can’t remember where… sing out if it was yours!

Summary: Sensible Ester gives a lecture on famous artist Hugo Rask.Hugo is in the audience. He was spellbound. Their lives become entwined.

I’m thinking: Yes. The sample chapter is a ripper.

Beauty is a Wound by Eka Kurniawan

Why I have it: It’s getting a lot of shelf space at book shops I visit (and why wouldn’t it, the cover is divine).

Summary: A tale of a prostitute and her four daughters combined with themes of colonial history, family tragedy, legend, and romance.

I’m thinking: Maybe. Do I need a novel about “…incest, murder, bestiality, rape, insanity, monstrosity, and the often vengeful undead”?

4 responses

  1. You have only eleven billion samples? I don’t understand your problem 🙂

    I would be interested most by the Eka Kurniawa. I have a net galley edition of her latest novel Man Tiger to read before end of November….and if I like that one I might get Beauty is a Wound

  2. I have the Kurniawan. It’s the summer read for my book club, also he will be in Ubud at the festival, and I will also be there. So shall take it and get it signed I hope. I looked at the opening page last night. What a hook: ‘One afternoon on a weekend in March, Dewi Ayu rose from her grave after being dead for twenty-one years.’ I’m so in nd the list of themes or topics don’t scare me (but you’ve just come off the Yanagihara!)

Leave a Reply

