Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts

man-booker-shortlist-2015

1. Man Booker 2015 shortlist time. I’m in the middle of A Little Life. It’s brilliant but harrowing. I also have Brief History and will probably read Spool (although I don’t love Tyler the way I feel I ought…). Thoughts on the others?

2. I’m chipping away at my TBR spreadsheet. Seriously, if it hits 300 books*, I’m not buying a single book in 2016.

3. I read a book that was so bad this week that I won’t bother with a review. And no, I won’t say what book.

4. Nutella bento boxes should always be a thing.

5. It’s true. This is the best gif ever.**

6. Are you watching Catastrophe? If not, why not? Haven’t laughed so hard at the tele in ages. Get on it.

7. I think this dress is inevitable for me…

marimekko

Bookish Thoughts is hosted by Christine at Bookishly Boisterous. Pop over and say hi.

* so far it’s up to 177 books but worryingly I still have a long way to go.
** it’s Will asking Kate if she wants a drink.

17 responses

    • Hooray! My Twitter sources tell me that filming of season two of Catastrophe is about to start. I think it’s one of those series that I’ll need the DVD of – so many funny lines that you need to see it more than once.

  1. I just bought Chigozie Obioma’s The Fishermen. As well as Anna Smaill’s The Chimes, which was on the long list. As for Anne Tyler, I haven’t read anything of hers since Accidental Tourist, which I remember loving. I love that dress, and I say yes to it. I love the GIF too. But I’m worried number 3. is about my book… It’s not is it? Just lie if you must…

    • Oh Jenny! No. 3 is most certainly NOT ABOUT YOUR BOOK! I haven’t started your book yet – saving it for the holidays 🙂 No, no. 3 was a trashy mum-lit/ chick-lit thing – don’t even know how I came to own it and only read it because it’s one of the few remaining books on my old Kindle (which I still use from time-to-time because it has a text-to-speech function which I listen to in the car).

      Anne Tyler… read Tourist a long time ago and enjoyed it. Didn’t love Homesick Restaurant and thought some of her others were okay but not outstanding. I feel like I’m missing something about her writing.

      Sounds like between us, we might get through the Booker shortlist before the winner is announced!

  2. Nutella bento boxes? Gimme, gimme 😀

    There’s no way I’m going to be able to read any of the books shortlisted for this year’s Man Booker before the winner is announced. The titles all sound good though, will definitely make a point to read them sometime 🙂

    Best of luck with #2!

Leave a Reply

