Sample Saturday – a psychic, infidelity and a deserted island

sample-saturday-4

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

Why I have it: Because it’s on #ALLTHELISTS (including this one).

Summary: Teenage runaway who is also a psychic becomes involved in an unsolved mystery.

I’m thinking: Yes – The Lovely Bones meets Tony Hogan?

Single, Carefree, Mellow by Katherine Heiny

Why I have it: Downloaded this a fortnight ago. Can’t even remember why.

Summary: Linked short stories about love and infidelity.

I’m thinking: Yes, it’s snappy.

Bright Young Things by Scarlett Thomas

Why I have it: Clearly I went on some kind of Scarlett Thomas frenzy (she also wrote PopCo which I rejected).

Summary: Six burnt-out 20-somethings apply for a mysterious job and then find themselves ‘prisoners’ on a deserted island.

I’m thinking: Could be convinced if someone sung its praises for me.

4 responses

    • That’s what I love – books that divide opinion! I’d rather read a book that has some people giving it five stars and others giving it one than a book that gets an all-round ‘ok’!

Leave a Reply

