Stella Prize 2015 shortlist

stella-prize-2015-shortlist

The Stella Prize 2015 shortlist has been announced. I’m always busting to see what’s included on a shortlist but this time even more so because I’ve signed up for the Stella Shortlist Book Club. You should join as well (if you’re at a loose end over the next six weeks…).

So, here’s what we’ll be reading:

Foreign Soil – Maxine Beneba Clarke (March 16)
The Strays – Emily Bitto (March 23)
The Invisible History of the Human Race – Christine Kenneally (March 30)
The Eye of the Sheep – Sofie Laguna (April 6)
The Golden Age – Joan London (April 13)
Heat and Light – Ellen van Neerven (April 20)

I am a bit disappointed that Sonya Hartnett’s Golden Boys didn’t make the shortlist. I’m also surprised that Garner wasn’t included. But now that I’ve got that off my chest, I will say that The Eye of the Sheep is just wonderful; that I’ve heard brilliant things about The Strays; and that I’m currently reading The Golden Age and it’s also wonderful.

Of the others, I don’t know much about them – how did I miss the Kenneally though? It’s right up my teacup*. There’s two short story collections in the mix – I’m not mad for short stories… Why? I don’t know… Perhaps it’s my short attention span. Anyway, I’ll do my best to read the shortlist over the next six weeks and will get cracking on Foreign Soil.

* that delightful turn-of-phrase brought to you via a friend’s sister. Irresistible, isn’t it?

2 responses

  1. Pingback: If I’m going to be honest, the number is 394 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

