Sample Saturday – a catastrophe, a restaurant and marriage

sample-saturday-4

The Leftovers by Tom Perrota

Why I have it: Haven’t read this Perrota.

Summary: The bewildered citizens of Mapleton have lost friends and family in an event known as the Sudden Departure. New mayor, Kevin Garvey, is dealing with the fall-out, meanwhile his wife has left to join a cult, the Guilty Remnant.

I’m thinking: No – straying too far into dystopian for my liking.

Delancy by Molly Wizenberg

Why I have it: Picked for the Foodies Read challenge.

Summary: a memoir focused on a pizza restaurant, espresso machines, wooden boats, violin-building, ice-cream and a fragile marriage.

I’m thinking: Yes.

William Walker’s First Year of Marriage: A Horror Story by Matt Rudd

Why I have it: Pretty sure it’s because I thought the sub-heading – ‘A Horror Story’ was funny.

Summary: William Walker has just married Isabel. They live in London, William has been promoted and everything seems perfect. However William has a knack for messing things up.

I’m thinking: Maybe – could be a great beach read as long as the high-jinx don’t get too ridiculous.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

