Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts

stella-prize-longlist-2015

1. Stella Prize 2015 longlist announced today. I’ve read four of them (Hartnett, Pung, Garner and Laguna) and have a couple of others in my very-near-reading-future.

2. I’d like to see Hartnett win.

3. But can’t believe Favel Parrett’s When the Night Comes didn’t make the longlist.

4. In other bookish news, I notice that Christine Sneed has a new book on the way – Paris, He Said. I thoroughly enjoyed her first novel, Little Known Facts.

5. I have two new favourite food blogs: Eat Me Drink Me (just beautiful and with a German bent) and Shannon’s Kitchen (hilarious – thanks to @stayathomesam for the tip).

6. Saw the movie The Theory of Everything today. Basically cried for two hours straight.

7. And if Eddie Redmayne doesn’t win an Academy Award then the system sucks.

8. Uni starts back in a fortnight. I had so many lovely plans for the break… Done nothing. Now I’m down to the tedious must-dos: tax, dealing with IT issues, work.

9. And although this ‘holiday’ hasn’t even finished, I’m already thinking about the next ones – a mini-break in Hobart with my friend who is visiting from London. And a quick overseas jaunt with Leanne – location to be decided (but it will include a rich local culture and good sightseeing plus excellent food and an opportunity for cocktails by a pool – Vietnam? Hong Kong? Malaysia?). The pool below is at Hong Kong’s Hotel Indigo.

10. A final bookish thought – I finished two books today so I am in the rare (for me) position of ‘currently not reading anything’. Looking forward to decision time tonight.

Bookish Thoughts is hosted by Christine at Bookishly Boisterous. Pop over and say hi.

hotel-indigo-hong-kong

10 responses

    • Garner has covered similar topics in the past (check out The First Stone) and all have been excellent. They certainly make great picks for book clubs – always LOTS to discuss.

  1. I need to read Helen Garner’s book, I also have one from Justin Heazlewood and I am yet to purchase Neil Gaiman’s newest book of short stories.

    Your post reminds me I am still yet to do my tax :\

    • See I think I was in the minority who didn’t love Lost & Found… But always glad to see any Australian author achieve great commercial success 🙂

      Yes, could see myself poolside in Bali… we need to buckle down and do some serious research!

Leave a Reply

