Six Degrees of Separation – from This Book Will Save Your Life to The Blazing World

six-degrees-1

It’s time again for my favourite meme. Based on the concept of six degrees of separation, Emma Chapman and Annabel Smith have created #6DEGREES, where bloggers share links between books in six moves. Check out the rules if you want to play along.

We begin the chain with This Book Will Save Your Life by A.M. Homes – I haven’t read it *sigh* but I do know that it’s an apocalyptic tale set in Los Angeles. Which brings me to California, a post-apocalyptic tale by Edan Lepucki (another book I haven’t read *heavy sigh*).

I was initially drawn to California because I loved the sideways cover – much like We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas. I haven’t read that either *this is getting depressing*.

Kerri at Turn the Page Reviews told me that We Are Not Ourselves features a character with dementia. I’ve read a couple of books recently where dementia is the major theme, notably Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healy.

Now my next link is tenuous to say the least but stay with me. When I thought about what might come after Elizabeth is Missing, my first thought was Olive Kitteridge, written by Elizabeth Strout (the link being ‘Elizabeth’). Olive is at the forefront of my mind at the moment because I’m happily immersed in the mini-series. It’s wonderful stuff.

Olive is told as a series of short stories, each carefully linked, as is Vactionland by Sarah Stonich.

The main character in Vactionland is an artist, as is the central character in Siri Hustvedt’s The Blazing World. Why am I finishing with a book that I could not finish? Who knows. But there it is, six moves.

six-degrees-a-m-homes

11 responses

  1. I can only comment on Olive – being the only book in this 6 degrees that I’ve read! Olive is such a wonderful book, I can’t wait to get into the Tv show.
    But like everything else (including keeping up with my favourite memes) tv has taken a back seat.

  2. The sideways cover connection – that’s a new one. I quite enjoyed California although the ending didn’t quite sit well with me.

    I’ve been hearing about Olive Kitteridge but we’ve just started watching Breaking Bad so I sense there won;t be any room in my TV viewing schedule for quite some time!

    • Haven’t watched Breaking Bad yet – it’s about to start from the beginning on Foxtel so will watch.

      Olive is only four episodes – watch when you get a chance, it’s brilliant.

Leave a Reply

