Three speedy reviews

jfk-holiday-house

It’s the time of the year when I feel like everything goes a bit manic. As well as negotiating Christmas lights, tinsel and December 25th catering, we also have three family birthdays in the mix. So before I completely lose my shit (in a very festive way, of course), I thought I’d get one element of life under control. Hence three quick reviews.

we-were-liars-e-lockhart

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

If I were a young adult (because We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is a YA novel), this would be one of my favourite books. I probably would have finished it, and then started over. I might have also started some kind of Kennedy-family/ Hyannisport/ Cape Cod style-board (actually, it was pre-Pinterest, so a scrapbook) – the story isn’t about the Kennedys but it is the Kennedys meets King Lear, in the form of the fictional Sinclair family and their compound on a private island off Cape Cod.

Every good review I’ve read of this book raves about the twist. I liked the twist well enough but the outstanding feature of We Were Liars is undoubtedly Lockhart’s fine writing – ignore the #firstworldproblems factor and focus on the beautifully developed relationships between the ‘liars’ (four teens), their parents, siblings and grandparents. In addition, the sense of place (on a fictional island) is exquisite.

3.5/5

how-to-build-a-girl-caitlin-moran

How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran

Is this book classed as young-adult, emerging adult or simply adult-adult? Regardless, I highlighted about eleventy-million paragraphs that were tops. Moran’s dry wit, her spot-on portrayal of teen, Johanna, with nostalgic historical music details and the right amount of family drama (not melodrama) thrown in, is a winner. It’s awkward, truthful, funny, painful and pretty much perfect. I say pretty much perfect because it’s hard not to compare How to Build a Girl to other excellent books about young girls living on council estates in Britain* that I’ve read – it’s a bloody strong field.

4/5

*Notably Tony Hogan and 99 Reasons.

the-heart-broke-in-james-meek

The Heart Broke In by James Meek

The Heart Broke In by James Meek really deserves a full and thorough review because it’s a novel of epic proportions (literally at 560 pages and figuratively). The themes are big, the characters are big, the plot is complex but tightly woven and the attention to detail is meticulous. I wonder how books like this don’t get more devotees (the Franzen-effect?)?

Anyway, one reviewer called this book a “moral-thriller” – I have to mention it because I wouldn’t be able to come up with anything as apt. Aside from being a moral thriller, there’s stuff in there about aging rock stars, siblings, cells, London, malaria, religion, genetics, parenting, loyalty, forgiveness and blackmail. Block out some reading time, this one’s a ripper.

4/5

7 responses

  1. I loved James Meek’s book but had trouble convincing people to read it (I’m a Librarian). The cover is bloody awful which probably doesn’t help. I thought it would get lots more word of mouth but it seems to have disappeared without a trace. So glad that you discovered and enjoyed it 🙂

  2. I started the Meek and somehow drifted off it. Will try again. Want to read the Moran (I read her other one, fab stuff.)

    Oh and I know what you mean about this time of year. Except we have 4 family birthdays all within the first ten days of December. Throw in 5 close friends end Nov/early Dec and it really makes things hard/fun.

    • Not sure how much my current studies influenced my enjoyment of Meek (there’s lots of cell biology in the book and in separate storylines, parasites and malaria, and the drive to have your own children/pass your DNA on). If I don’t read another good book this year, I won’t feel robbed, given that the Meek was so good.

      The next two weeks might tip me over the edge – so much on, so many dinners out *breaks out the elastic waist pants*

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Books for 2014 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  4. Pingback: Six Degrees of Separation – from Wild to The Heart Broke In | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  5. Pingback: Just quietly, this is a great bunch of books | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

