Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts

I’m doing this week’s Bookish Thoughts (hosted by the lovely Christine) as a tweet. Except instead of 140 characters or less, it’s 140 words or less. Starting from now.

1. Bob Dylan last night. Mellow.

2. Mid-semester exam looming. Stressed.

3. Mythbusters Live last week. Fun.

4. Hair cut today. As always, I referred my hairdresser to Kim Wilde. Blonde.

5. Kids footy and lacrosse finish this week = winter almost over. Relief.

6. Boden now available in Australia. Dangerous.

7. Reconnected with an old friend this week. Lovely.

8. Still re-reading Donna Tartt’s The Little Friend. Boring.

9. Have upped my swim distance with aim to join a (relaxed) squad. Planning.

10. Book Week costume prep. Busy.

book w

10 responses

    • I sent one 13-Storey Treehouse (by Andy Griffiths – that’s what he’s making in the picture) off to school; a Timmy Failure; and Eliza Boom (by Emily Gale) and a Peekay (from The Power of One). I LOVE Book Week…

  1. The Little Friend, yes what is it about it? Parts of it are magnificent, I reckon, and other parts, most of it after a while, stultifying. I don’t get it. It’s like I’m missing something with that book. Have read it twice, again recently wanting to ‘work out why I didn’t get it the first time’ and failed again.

    • Do you know what I think is off? There’s no sense of time (and Tartt is usually so good at the time and place thing). So in The Little Friend you’re getting a Mockingbird vibe and yet there’s references to backyard meth labs… I’ll battle on (I’m like that) but starting to wonder if I ever actually finished it the first time round.

  2. The Little Friend is my least favorite. And I’m still a little jealous of your Bob Dylan experience, the show I went to last summer was huge and decidedly not mellow.

  3. You know I tried to get started on The Little Friend before The Goldfinch was released and simply couldn’t get into it. I have only read The Goldfinch by Tartt and I loved it but I’m not especially drawn into reading her older works…maybe one day 😉

Leave a Reply

