What’s in a Name Challenge Wrap-up

WIN6

It’s that time of year when the reading challenge wrap-up posts begin. I’m starting with the What’s in a Name challenge.

The challenge was simple – read one book that fits each of the six ‘categories’ –

  • A book with up or down (or equivalent) in the title – A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby
  • A book with fire (or equivalent) in the title – Heartburn by Nora Ephron
  • A book with lost or found (or equivalent) in the title – Nowhere Yet by Edward Cozza

The categories I found the easiest were Emotions and Party/Celebrations. In contrast, Fire almost killed me until I remembered Heartburn was on my reading list.

The books I enjoyed the most out of those I read for this challenge – The Easter Parade, Heartburn and Love All.

The book I enjoyed least? Nowhere Yet (in fact, it has the dubious honour of being the worst book I read this year).

Best discovery by participating in this challenge was Goodman’s The Cookbook Collector – the style was different to what I had anticipated. The debut, The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P., is a book that I still think about and one that I’m trying to get on my book group’s reading list for next year – I reckon a room full of (mostly) single women might have some thoughts on the main character.

This was a fun reading challenge and I’m looking forward to the categories for next year.

Leave a Reply

