They should make a movie of that…

BookFiend-etsy

First book, then movie. I miss lots of new-release movies because I haven’t read the book. In fact, my chief-movie-going-pal often gives me advance warning of movies she wants to see with a simple “Read the book now because the movie is out in a month.” I have lovely, considerate friends.

Even though the book is nearly always better than the movie (nearly), it doesn’t stop me imagining the movie version of books I’ve loved. Some books just scream ‘screenplay please’. This week’s Top Ten topic, hosted by The Broke and Bookish, is Books I Would Love To See As A Movie.

1. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – the first thing I thought when I finished this glorious book last week was – Film. Stat.

2. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent – the Icelandic landscape is just calling for a camera…

3. Seating Arrangements by Maggie Shipstead – they’d have to tread carefully with some scenes (notably exploding whale and rooftop bits which could look ridiculous on screen) but done well, it’d be brilliant.

4. Swimming Home by Deborah Levy – the Stealing Beauty of this decade.

5. All That I Am by Anna Funder – so I didn’t love the book but it would be sensational on film.

6. The Deep Whatsis by Peter Mattei – calling out for an Easton-Ellis/ Tarantino treatment.

7. Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears – to showcase the Australian landscape (the horse/Australian landscape thing may not be terribly original but it is nice to look at).

8. The Post Office Girl by Stefan Zweig – I’m still a bit in love with this story…

9. My Notorious Life by Kate Manning – another book I’ve only just finished but seriously, if the film rights aren’t being negotiated at this very moment, I’ll eat my hat.

10. The Last Banquet by Jonathan Grimwood – I’m halfway through this book but already it’s banquets, French nobility and the promise of a costume EXTRAVAGANZA.

(Image via Etsy store Book Fiend)

top-ten-books-movies

14 responses

  1. Your description for Seating Arrangements has bumped the book super high on my want-to-read list (if it wasn’t already high on the list to begin with! lol) xD

    Iceland really looks gorgeous (would love to go there someday), I can’t wait to check out Burial Rites (again, high on my list).

    Swimming Home would make an aesthetically lovely indie film, I think. And I agree, My Notorious Life would make an interesting film with the period setting and the themes.

    Great list this week! 🙂 My TTT

  2. LOVED Stealing Beauty, even the soundtrack was gorgeous. I was sort of expecting to see The Art of Fielding on your list (it’s on mine).

    I’ve just started Burial Rites and I see what you mean, the writing almost needs to be savored. It’s amazing she’s so young.

    I’d love to see Seating Arrangements done well, but it really would need the right people behind it.

    • I toyed with putting The Art of Fielding on my list but I just don’t know if any film could match how much I enjoyed reading that book. I think it would turn into a baseball film and really, it’s not a baseball book. Perhaps I’m being too cynical…

      After all these years, I’m still listening to the Stealing Beauty soundtrack.

      • I know what you mean. The best movie in the world could never top a favorite book. A two hour movie would never be able to catch the nuances of a novel. And I do think it would turn into a baseball movie (it’s one of the reasons I titled my post Wishful Thinking, because none of the movies would ever live up to the book).

Leave a Reply

