Top Ten Tuesday – Books for Gatsby fans

the-great-gatsby

Everywhere I turn I’m seeing Gatsby – fringes on dresses, Bakelite accessories and sublime Art Deco curves in furniture design. Get a little Jazz Age into your reading list as well.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a topic rewind. I’m going all the way back to January 2012 when The Broke and the Bookish looked at their Top 10 Historical Fiction picks… And then I’m rewinding a little further to the glorious years between 1920 and 1940 when the order of the day was bobbed hair, cloche hats and gin cocktails. Of course we must start at the very top with Gatsby.

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Basically I’m beside myself with excitement waiting for this:

But what else is on the ‘Gatsby’ reading list?

2. The Women by T. C. Boyle

3. The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell

4. Z: The Story of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

5. White Mischief by James Fox

6. Loving Frank by Nancy Horan

top-ten-row-1

and the ones that I haven’t read (Why? Why haven’t I read these?!)

7. The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty

8. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

9. The Group by Mary McCarthy

10. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

11. Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen

top-ten-row-2

17 responses

  1. Have you read The Other Typist yet? I’m about to start that one (too…). I’ve heard excellent things. Rules of Civility sounds great, I’m a sucker for anything with characters named Grey.

    And I can’t wait for the Gatsby movie, each time I see the preview I think I can’t get more excited – then I do. The soundtrack look (sound?) fabulous.

  2. Pingback: A top ten of top tens. I know, ace. | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  3. Pingback: The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

