First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday – Ten Things I’ve Learnt About Love by Sarah Butler

ten-things-I-learnt-about-love-sarah-butler

Despite the fact that my participating in First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday, hosted by Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea, was supposed to reduce the number of sample chapters I have on my Kindle, it seems the opposite has happened. In the past week, I’ve loaded up on new releases! Here’s one that caught my eye – Ten Things I’ve Learnt About Love by Sarah Butler. I am intrigued because the book is written as a series of lists. I love lists.

Here’s the first paragraph –

“Ten things I will say to my father
1) I met a man in Singapore who smelt like you – cigarette smoke and suede.
2) I remember that holiday in Greece – endless ruins, and you having to explain the difference between Doric, Ionic and Corinthian columns again and again.
3) I wish you’d talked about Mama. I wish you’d kept something of hers.
4) I still have the book you bought me for my tenth birthday, when I wanted to be an astronaut – A Tour Through the Solar System.
5) I know you always hoped one of us would be a doctor, like you.
6) I have a recurring dream. I am standing outside your house. There’s a party; I can hear people talking and laughing inside. I ring the doorbell, and it takes you for ever to answer.
7) It was me who stole the photograph from your study.
8) I used to spy on you – watch you gardening or sitting in your armchair, or at your desk with your back to the door. I always wanted you to turn around and see me.
9) I’m sorry I haven’t been about much.
10) Please, don’t -“

Buy or bin it?

13 responses

Leave a Reply

