Top Ten Books I Read In 2012

top-ten-best-books-2012

Recently, a member of my book group called me a ‘book pusher’. I feigned disbelief – “I don’t push books onto people!” I exclaimed. But I do. I do it all the time. Once I’ve read a really good book, I want everyone around me to share the joy.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new ‘top ten’ challenge is posted – anyone can join in. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Read in 2012. Or, in other words, the Top Ten Books I’ve Been Pushing on People This Year.

1. The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach – my favourite book for the year.

2. Of a Boy by Sonya Hartnett – this book will never leave me.

3. The Forrests by Emily Perkins – unusual and very special.

4. Tigers in Red Weather by Lisa Klaussman – sublime… Where’s the gin?

5. The Dinner by Herman Koch – gripping (you might even read it in one sitting).

6. One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper – Tropper at his best.

7. Love & Hunger by Charlotte Wood – because for me, food, writing and reading always collide.

8. Ru by Kim Thúy – unexpected, delicate, memorable.

9. Mateship With Birds by Carrie Tiffany – I’m still thinking about Little Hazel and her pony-dreams.

10. The Feast of Love by Charles Baxter – you’ll cry.

18 responses

  1. Thanks for this list – it’s given me a few to add to my own reading list. I adored Charlotte Wood’s Love & Hunger, but her novel Animal People simply took my breath away at the end. She’s a wonderful Australian writer.

    • Agree – I loved Animal People as well. I haven’t read The Children yet… I’m busting to but saving the pleasure until next year. I used to discover an author and then madly read everything they’d written – now I try to exercise a little more restraint and stretch the enjoyment out over a longer time.

  2. Pingback: ‘Foal’s Bread’ by Gillian Mears | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  3. Pingback: A top ten of top tens. I know, ace. | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

