Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012

top-ten-new-to-me-authors

Well, finally a list that can’t possibly contain any John Irving (but see what I did there, slipped the name in… Are you thinking about Owen Meany now?!).

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new ‘top ten’ challenge is posted – anyone can join in. This week’s topic is Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012.

1. Chad Harbach – The Art of Fielding took Harbach ten years to write. I sincerely hope we don’t have to wait a decade for his next book.

2. Emily Perkins – New Zealand born Perkins thrilled me with her exquisite saga, The Forrests.

3. Laura Dave – for sharp chick-lit.

4. Matthew Norman – the new kid on the block when it comes to lad-lit.

5. Lisa Klaussman – I’m a bit in love with Tigers in Red Weather… Again, a debut book so I’m excited to see what’s next.

6. T.C. Boyle – Boyle has written a bunch of books, predominantly based on historical fact. I thoroughly enjoyed The Women.

7. Chloe Hooper – emerging Australian author Hooper wrote The Engagement, a story with an ending that I’m still thinking about.

8. Michael Chabon – it’s great discovering an author who has already published loads of books.

9. Charles Baxter – ditto above. After finishing The Feast of Love, I raced out and bought some of his other titles.

10. David Park – ditto again. There are lots more of Park’s books for me to discover.

23 responses

  1. I read The Feast of Love a few years ago, and loved it! You’ve got a few on your list that I’ve been wanting to check out, and now you’ve given me some more food for thought. Thanks!

    Lisa
    My TTT

  2. I’ve heard such mixed reviews of The Art of Fielding. Check out the comments on this thread for example: http://www.themillions.com/2012/12/a-year-in-reading-emma-straub-2.html/comment-page-1#comment-101849 In general I don’t like books that have a sporting focus, so I’d be interested to know what made it so special for you.

    I definitely share your feelings about Michael Chabon. I’m reading and loving Telegraph Avenue and it’s great to know he’s got such an extensive backlist. Anyway, here’s my list: http://annabelsmith.tumblr.com/post/37662640254/authors-discovered-2012

    • I’m not really into sporting books either but in The Art of Fielding, baseball simply sets the scene (I was surprised how much I did enjoy the baseball bits!). It’s the characters – I became heavily invested in nearly all of them. I’m currently reading Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears – it’s challenging The Art of Fielding as my favourite book of the year (although Harbach is still a nose in front!).

      I’ve pressed Harbach on quite a few friends – they’ve all loved it. I say give it a try – would love to hear your thoughts!

      • I trust recs by particular people/ bloggers/ authors. Can’t remember who told me to read Harbach but it was a source that hasn’t let me down! Some of the best books I’ve read have been recommended by author Charlotte Wood (via Twitter) – I like her writing and I like the books she suggests. This year’s stand-out was The Forrests, a strange and beautiful read.

  3. So many fantastic looking books, my TBR pile suffered from this post. 😀 I’ve had my eye on Domestic Violets for a while now but have yet to read it. Definitely going to check out The First Husband and The Engagement too now. That Feast of Love cover looks awful familiar… I have a feeling it’s in one of my book piles at home. Will have to dig that up. Great list!!
    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    • Domestic Violets was so funny – I’ve suggested it to lots of friends and they’ve all loved it.

      Laura Dave’s book was promoted by Johnathan Tropper for ages… Not sure what the connection between the two of them is (and honestly I haven’t bothered to find out!) but I love Tropper so I gave Laura Dave a go. I’m not big on chick-lit but after reading The First Husband, I picked up a couple of her other books, knowing there will be a time when I want something light to read.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. ahh I need to check out THE ART OF FIELDING! I really love the cover and heard pretty good things about it. Michael Chabon is on my list of authors I also need to read. I met him a few years ago and he was super nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

