Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Kick Ass Heroines

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new ‘top ten’ challenge is posted – anyone can join in. This week’s topic is Top Ten Favorite Kick-Ass Heroines. My list may not have much in the way of hardcore-ass-kicking but these are my memorable heroines – the chicks (and rabbits and pigs) that have stayed with me.

1. Miffy by Dick Bruna – because hello, world domination by a rabbit. Miffy rules (and if you don’t believe me, get this amazing book).

2. Elizabeth Allen in The Naughtiest Girl series by Enid Blyton – she was naughty and when I was seven, I thought she was the cats-pyjamas.

3. Eliza Naumann in Bee Season by Myla Goldberg – because spelling bee champions are cool.

4. Jo in Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – no explanation required. Legend.

5. Ruth Becker in All That I Am by Anna Funder – based on fact, it’s the story of Ruth and her cousin Dora, German dissidents whose political agitating against Hitler and his Third Reich makes for brave heroines.

6. Laura Ingalls Wilder from The Little House series – I admit this is as much about Melissa Gilbert as Laura and those opening credits as it is about Laura’s books… But I thoroughly loved them.

7. Scout Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – see point four above.

8. Scarlet O’Hara from Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – she is the definition of gritty (and all class).

9. Becky Sharp in Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray – some might say Becky is the complete opposite of a heroine but she knows how to keep her eye on the prize.

10. Olivia in the Olivia series by Ian Falconer – a little drama never hurt anybody.

22 responses

  1. Oh my… Miffy! I used to love Miffy. Okay, I still do and took the birth of my niece as an excuse to buy a bunch of Dick Bruna books to read to her. I never really considered her books as a world domination rabbit style but it’s got merit.

  2. I thought about putting Scarlett on my TTT list, but I’ve used her or Gone with the Wind a LOT (it’s one of my favorites), so I decided to let some other girls have a chance. 😀

    • Every time I watched Little House ,u mum would say “You can only watch it if you don’t get too upset” and I would promise I would be okay… an hour later I would be crying my eyes out. Nearly every episode! A few years later I can remember crying while reading the books as well!

  3. Pingback: A top ten of top tens. I know, ace. | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

