Mount TBR Reading Challenge

Never has there been a more appropriate reading challenge for me. A few months ago I made a confession about my reading stack. Since that time, I’ve made two further lists of books that I plan to read next (here and here). Some I’ve read, some I haven’t… And a lot more books have been acquired since.

So when I stumbled across My Reader’s Block challenge – Mount TBR – I knew it was calling my name.

The challenge is simple:

  • Pike’s Peak: Read 12 books from your TBR pile/s
  • Mt. Vancouver: Read 25 books from your TBR pile/s
  • Mt. Ararat: Read 40 books from your TBR piles/s
  • Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 50 books from your TBR pile/s
  • El Toro: Read 75 books from your TBR pile/s
  • Mt. Everest: Read 100+ books from your TBR pile/s

There’s a few rules but the main thing is that once you choose your challenge level, you are locked in for at least that many books. If you find that you’re on a mountain-climbing roll and want to tackle a taller mountain,you can upgrade.

By the size of my TBR pile, I should be going for Everest but I’m going to start with Mt. Vancouver  (with Mt. Ararat in my sights).

And to really lock me in, I’m going to read the books that have been languishing on my previous TBR lists:

1. The Women by T.C Boyle
2. Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green
3. The Mysteries of Pittsburgh by Michael Chabon
4. The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan
5. The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright
6. Capital by John Lanchester
7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
8. Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace
9. Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo
10. Making News by Tony Wilson
11.The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
12. The Freudian Slip by Marion von Alderstein
13. Alys, Always by Harriet Land
14. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

plus these:

15. Mrs Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn
16. Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears
17. Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan
18. Monkeys by Susan Minot
19. Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon
20. The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont
21. Swimming Studies by Leanne Shapton
22. The Sweet Life series by Francine Pascal
23. Catching the Sun by Tony Parsons
24. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
25. One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper

Note that I am bending one rule a tad. Books had to be purchased/ borrowed before January 1, 2012… but I’m going with the TBR pile from now, given that I’m so late to this brilliant challenge. The bottom line is NO MORE BOOK BUYING UNTIL 25 BOOKS ARE OFF MY TBR LIST.

The lovely pic I’ve used at the top of this post came from here.

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books on my Fall (Spring!) TBR List | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  2. Pingback: ‘Olive Kitteridge’ by Elizabeth Strout | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  4. Pingback: Reading Challenges 2013 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Resolve to Read in 2013 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Goals for 2013 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

