Top Ten Tuesday – TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new ‘top ten’ challenge is posted – anyone can join in. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List. So although it’s not very summery in Melbourne at present (in fact, it’s darn cold), I still have a staggeringly long TBR list. Picking just ten will barely scrap the surface, but here it is:

1. Canada by Richard Ford. I like it when authors give books rave reviews, so when I came across Kylie Ladd’s (author of the fantastic Last Summer) review of Canada, it went straight on my reading list. In fact, Ladd’s clever use of Ford’s first line was what reeled me in –

‘First, I’ll tell you about the robbery our parents committed. Then the murders, which happened later.’
Opening lines don’t get much better than this.

2.  After the Fall by Kylie Ladd. Speaking of Ladd, this is one I haven’t read and someone on Twitter mentioned that it was the best book they’d ever read. Ever. It’s on my Kindle, ready and waiting. Read an excerpt here.

3. The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright. I try to read all the major prize-winners each year and Enright took home the 2012 Orange Prize.

4. Capital by John Lanchester. Who says you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover? I was totally sucked in by this one!

5. The Innocents by Francesca Segal. This book looks light, entertaining but by all accounts is well-written – a winner then!

6. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. So many people have recommended this book to me that I simply cannot ignore it any longer.

7. Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace. The blurb mentions Jason Priestley. I love an early-nineties pop-culture reference. Plus, no one has reviewed this book without the word ‘funny’ coming up.

8. Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo. Although non-fiction, this book is heavy on the narrative. I know several people who have recently visited India and been on ‘slum tours’ – that sounds grim but apparently is anything but.

9. Eucalyptus by Murray Bail. I’m not sure how I missed reading this book way back in 1999 when it was first published. I’m making up for lost time because a friend recently put it in her top ten books of all time.

10. Making News by Tony Wilson. I love Wilson’s sly brand of humour – he manages to poke fun at current events without being offensive. This book looks like a ripper.

6 responses

  1. Fabulous list! I just finished Canada (review will be up tomorrow) and it was amazing. Loved it. After the Fall is an amazing book too and Me Before You is just beautiful. I have The Forgotten Waltz here in a big pile to read too… and I’m going to have to read Eucalyptus one of these days!

  2. I adore Eucalyptus and have given it to several friends – I’m so happy to see it getting some love from someone else 🙂 I’ve got Capital on my list – fascinating read and excellent characters.
    Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Enforced down-time = reading bonanza | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  4. Pingback: Mount TBR Reading Challenge | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

