It’s a nice day for a walk… And a read

This morning I saw a school girl walking along the street, with her nose buried in a book. I used to do the same thing as a teenager – my ten minute walk to the train station was the perfect opportunity to get a couple of chapters read!

At a parent-teacher presentation at my children’s school earlier this year, the Grade 4 teachers said that it was important that students managed at least 20 minutes of reading a day and that it was equally important that students see adults reading as part of daily routine.

A handful of parents around me did that special kind of under-the-breath-huffing-and-puffing which basically translates as ‘Yeah, right – like that’s going to happen.’ Thankfully, I have no trouble ticking those boxes as my kids spend lots of time reading and they constantly see me with my nose in a book – I may not be combining reading with the walk to school these days but I have mastered making breakfast whilst holding a novel!

Leave a Reply

