Australian Women Writers Challenge 2013

awwbadge_2013

As a new blogger, I only dipped my toe in the water of reading challenges this year. I’ll change that in 2013, starting with the Australian Women Writers 2013 reading challenge.

The challenge has been created to support and promote writing by Australian women, and to help overcome the gender bias in literary review pages. There are three levels (named after early 20th-century author Stella Miles Franklin) -

1. Stella – read 3 books, review at least 2
2. Miles – read 6 books, review at least 4
3. Franklin – read 10 books, review at least 6

I’ve signed up for the Miles (Read six books, review at least four).

For the record, here’s a list of the books I reviewed by Australian female authors in 2012 -

Nice Girl by Rachael Chin
House of Sticks by Peggy Frew
All That I Am by Anna Funder
Of a Boy by Sonya Hartnett
The Mothers’ Group by Fiona Higgins
The Engagement by Chloe Hooper
The Mistake by Wendy James
My Hundred Lovers by Susan Johnson
After the Fall by Kylie Ladd
The Boy Who Fell to Earth by Kathy Lette
The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton
Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany
A Common Loss by Kirsten Tranter
The Boy Under the Table by Nicole Trope
The Freudian Slip by Marion von Alderstein
Love & Hunger by Charlotte Wood
Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears (currently reading)

Clearly I should have pledged for the Franklin challenge in 2013.

So, what’s on my Australian Women Writers list for 2013? Who knows what the year will bring but I am declaring early inclusions will be:

Whiskey Charlie Foxtrot by Annabel Smith
The Children by Charlotte Wood
The Longing by Candice Bruce
The Secret River by Kate Grenville
The Meaning of Grace by Deborah Forster
The Light Between the Oceans by M. L. Stedman

A post-script to this post: Readings just published a fantastic list of fifty books by Australian women, all published this year.

 

11 responses

  1. I’m in the same boat with challenges but for me, 2013 will be my first venture into book challenges. I’ll be joining in on AWW 2013 too. Should be great fun. For some reason, I’ve been reluctant to embark on Charlotte Wood’s work but I plan to take the plunge and read something of hers in 2013.

  2. Pingback: Reading Challenges 2013 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Resolve to Read in 2013 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  4. Pingback: ‘Life in Ten Houses’ by Sonya Hartnett | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  5. Pingback: Stella Prize 2013 | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

  6. Pingback: First Chapter, First Paragraph – ‘How to be a Good Wife’ by Emma Chapman | booksaremyfavouriteandbest

Leave a Reply

