Recommend A… Book Someone Else Recommended To You

I’m not sure if I can keep up with oodles of memes (I’m trying hard with Top Ten Tuesday) but I do like this one – Recommend A… from Chick Loves Lit. One book recommendation a week shouldn’t be too strenuous!

This week’s topic is ‘Recommend a book someone else recommended to you.’

It’s an interesting topic. As an avid reader I find people are recommending books to me all the time. Problem is, I have specific tastes and a massive TBR pile! So I must admit, there are only a handful of people whose recommendations I follow to the letter. One of these people is my dear friend Jo – it’s rare that we don’t agree on books. She made two particular recommendations to me last year that made it to my list of very favourite books of all time – When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman and Loving Frank by Nancy Horan.

Loving Frank is the fictionalization of the life of Mamah Borthwick Cheney, best known as the woman who ‘wrecked’ Frank Lloyd Wright’s first marriage. Frank and Mamah, both married and with children, met when Mamah’s husband, Edwin, commissioned Frank to design a house. Their affair became the stuff of headlines when they left their families to live and travel together – scandalous in the early twentieth century! However in many ways, Mamah is ahead of her time – independent, well-educated and striving for women’s rights.

There is so much to recommend about this amazing book. As a huge fan of Frank Lloyd Wright’s work, it was somewhat difficult to read about his ‘character’ - temperamental, disagreeable and selfish, to say the least. But it is all about the ending. If you don’t already know the story of Mamah I urge you to read this book but DON’T skip ahead and read the last page and DON’T hit Google to find out the story of Mamah until you have read Nancy Horan’s version.

Leave a Reply

